A Kingman, Ariz., man is facing a charge of extreme driving under the influence (DUI) after his truck struck a natural gas meter, two fences and two parked vehicles prior to slamming into a home.
In Tempe, Phoenix or other communities in Maricopa County, it is important that you consult Arizona lawyers experienced in DUI and related offenses like those associated with the Law Offices of Craig W. Penrod, P.C.
Although the name extreme DUI sounds somewhat overly descriptive and somewhat comical, the potential penalties for an extreme or super extreme DUI in the state of Arizona are anything but amusing.
In May 2007, former Gov. Janet Napolitano signed into statute three DUI categories: DUI, extreme DUI, and super extreme DUI. As a result of the legislation, Arizona has some of the toughest DUI laws and penalties to be found anywhere. The different DUI categories are distinguished by the level of the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level measured for an intoxicated driver. A regular DUI requires a BAC level of 0.08 to 0.1499 percent. Any BAC level above that moves the driver into the extreme DUI and super extreme DUI range.
Under Arizona's DUI law, a person arrested for driving with a BAC level of 0.150 to 0.199 percent can be charged at the extreme DUI level. The potential penalties include a minimum of 30 days in the county jail, a $250 fine, a $250 DUI assessment, a $1,000 assessment earmarked for the state prison fund and a $1,000 assessment assigned to the state public safety fund.
Under the statute, a person arrested for driving with a BAC level of 0.20 percent or greater may be charged with super extreme DUI. A conviction for super extreme DUI is punishable by a minimum sentence of 45 days in the county jail, $2,750 in fines, a minimum period of a 90-day driver's license suspension, as well as the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) for a minimum of one year.
The extreme DUI categories in Arizona law live up to their names when you take into consideration the much lesser potential penalties of a so-called regular DUI charge. A person who is convicted for a DUI with a BAC level of 0.08 to 0.1499 percent may face up to $1,800 in fines and a minimum of 10 days in the county jail, which may be waived through participation in a substance abuse program.
It is important that your legal situation should be handled by expert professionals with the experience possessed by the attorneys at the Law Offices of Craig W. Penrod, P.C. Our office offers free consultations for all DUI and criminal matters. Our Arizona DUI attorneys and Arizona criminal lawyers can provide you with the experience and knowledge needed for qualified representation. An experienced Arizona DUI lawyer is vital in DUI cases and our DUI attorneys set that standard. If you're in need of a criminal defense, our Arizona criminal attorneys are ready to assist you.