Yes, this does happen. If there is a violation of A.R.S. 28-3511, the vehicle you are driving can be impounded and held for a period of 30 days when one of the following occurs:
*You are involved in an accident, and have no proof of insurance and have a suspended, revoked or cancelled driver's license for any reasons, or have never been issued a drivers license, or
*Your license is revoked for any reason, or
*Your driver's license is suspended for having previously driven on a suspended license, or
*Your driver's license is suspended for having had too many moving violations, or
*You have never had a drivers' license issued in Arizona or by any other jurisdiction, or
*You are arrested for either extreme, super extreme or aggravated DUI, or
*You are under legal drinking age and have any alcohol in your body.
There are exceptions to the 30-day impound and you may be eligible to have your vehicle released sooner. If you find yourself in this situation, call The Law Office of Craig W. Penrod for more information and to find if you qualify for one of the early release exceptions. Craig has been involved in criminal and DUI defense for more than 30 years, is certified by the State Bar of Arizona as a Certified Criminal Law Specialist, is AV® rated, the highest rating by Martindale Hubbell®, is listed in the Bar Register of Preeminent Lawyers®, and has been selected for inclusion in Southwest Super Lawyers™ Editions 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012. Contact the lawyers at the Law Offices of Craig W. Penrod for a free initial legal consultation if you find yourself facing DUI or criminal charges.