In the state of Arizona, revocation of your driver's license by the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) is a denial of your privilege to drive. Revocation of your driver's license is required by Arizona law, upon your conviction of certain driving offenses, especially driving under the influence (DUI).
If your driver's license has been revoked in Tempe, Gilbert and other locations in Maricopa County, as the result of an arrest on charges of DUI, it is important that you consult experienced Arizona DUI lawyers like those associated with the Law Offices of Craig W. Penrod, P.C.
According to MVD, your driving privileges will be revoked for:
- driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of any drug;
- any homicide or aggravated assault involving the use of a motor vehicle;
- any felony charge in which a motor vehicle was used;
- perjury or making false statement to MVD while under oath to be truthful;
- perjury relating to the ownership or operation of a motor vehicle;
- failure to stop and render aid at the site if you are involved in a traffic accident;
- a drive-by shooting; and-aggravated DUI involving alcohol or drugs.
Also, MVD will revoke your privilege to operate a motor vehicle for two or more convictions for:
- reckless driving; and
- racing a motor vehicle on the highways.
In addition, MVD will revoke your driving privileges for:
- failure to take and pass a required driving retest;
- the determination that you are medically, psychologically or physically incapable of operating a motor vehicle;
- three years if you are involved in an accident resulting in injury other than death or serious physical injury; and
- the determination that your continued operation of a motor vehicle would endanger the public health, safety and welfare.
According to MVD rules, at the conclusion of your revocation period, your driving privilege will remain revoked until an investigation by MVD has been completed. This investigation is designed to determine that all withdrawal actions have been concluded and that all statutory requirements have been met, including:
- your minimum revocation period has elapsed;
- if your driving privilege was also suspended, the end of the suspension period must have elapsed, as well;
- if your driving privilege was suspended as a result of a judgment filed against you in court, that judgment must also be satisfied. The court in which the judgment was filed is to provide a document to MVD which indicates that the judgment was satisfied;
- if your driving privileges are withdrawn, revoked or suspended in another state, you must satisfactorily complete any requirements necessary reinstate your privilege to drive in that state;
- if you have any warrants or pending traffic complaints/violations against you, you must first resolve all court-mandated requirements and obtain a written satisfaction from the court; and
- if you have committed any traffic violations within the preceding 12 months, MVD is not authorized to accept your application for reinstatement until 12 months have elapsed since the date of the violations.
As a final step to being licensed to drive you will be required to pay the appropriate MVD application fee, plus a $20 reinstatement fee. Also, you may be required to file with MVD a certificate of insurance, commonly known as an SR-22. Finally, a written, vision and road test may be required.
The Law Offices of Craig W. Penrod offers free consultations for all DUI and criminal matters. Our attorneys and criminal lawyers can provide you with the experience and knowledge needed for qualified representation. An experienced Arizona DUI lawyer is vital in cases of driving while intoxicated and our DUI attorneys set that standard. If you're in need of a criminal defense, our Arizona criminal attorneys are ready to assist you. Let our Phoenix DUI lawyers and Phoenix criminal attorneys serve you.