The situation, this past fall, involving an intoxicated fraternity student at Arizona State University (ASU) drew attention to the problem of underage drinking in Arizona college towns like Tempe. In this particular instance, members of an ASU fraternity dropped off a fraternity brother at a medical facility with a sticky note offering an explanation that he was drunk and may need medical assistance.
In Tempe, Phoenix or other communities in Maricopa County, it is important that you consult experienced Arizona criminal lawyers like those associated with the Law Offices of Craig W. Penrod, P.C.
It was a good thing that the student was taken to a medical facility as the sticky note suggested that he had consumed 20 shots of tequila. Apparently, his fraternity brothers feared for his medical well-being. The fraternity brothers did not remain at the hospital as they thought they would face legal problems for providing him the alcohol that he had apparently consumed.
That particular ASU fraternity had previously received attention for the news media due to actions taken regarding drunken underage fraternity brothers. You will recall that another intoxicated student from that same fraternity was found drown in the Salt River in the aftermath of being kicked out of a Tempe bar where his fraternity had gathered for a social event.
In the city of Tempe, students from fraternities and sororities have frequented local bars due to the fact that ASU had closed sorority and fraternity housing units. In the absence of enforcement and intervention by ASU, sorority and fraternity members who are both under and over the age of 21 tend to drink to excess.
That fraternity student who had been dropped off at the hospital was found to have a blood alcohol concentration level (BAC) of 0.47 percent. In the state of Arizona, a BAC anywhere above 0.00 percent is considered to be a violation of the law for anyone under the age of 21. An underage driving under the influence (DUI) in Tempe or anywhere in the state of Arizona will result in a revocation, suspension or denial of a driver's license up to a period of two years. That may depend upon the number of previous violations or that person.
By law, the state of Arizona does not permit persons under the age of 21 to possess or have any alcohol in their systems. These minors may receive up to 360 days in the county jail, as well as multiple monetary sanctions of significant levels for the consumption alcohol. State law also prohibits persons who are 21 years of age and older from purchasing alcohol and then providing it to a minor. Those who provide alcohol to a minor could be charged with a misdemeanor charge.
In the state of Arizona, DUI lawyers work with persons who are facing misdemeanors for consumption of alcohol or DUI in order to receive a favorable outcome.
It is important that your DUI legal situation should be handled by expert professionals with the experience possessed by the attorneys at the Law Offices of Craig W. Penrod, P.C. Our office offers free consultations for all DUI and criminal matters. Our Arizona DUI attorneys and Arizona criminal lawyers can provide you with the experience and knowledge needed for qualified representation. An experienced Arizona DUI lawyer is vital in DUI cases and our DUI attorneys set that standard. If you're in need of a criminal defense, our Arizona criminal attorneys are ready to assist you.