DUI Zero Tolerance
The state of Arizona is zero-tolerance state for drivers are under the age of 21 when it comes to driving under the influence (DUI). That means the legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit is lower than the limit which is permitted for drivers who are of legal drinking age.
When Arizona’s DUI law specifies zero tolerance, that means the acceptable BAC for a driver under the age of 21 is zero. In order to understand the ramifications of zero tolerance when it come to DUI arrests it is important that you should consult experienced Arizona DUI lawyers like those associated with the Law Offices of Craig W. Penrod, P.C.
Drivers who can legally drink can still get behind the wheel so long as their BAC is 0.08 percent or less. You should remember that if you’re under the age of 21, it’s illegal in the state of Arizona to drink alcoholic beverages in the first place. The reason for the extra enforcement? If you are caught with a BAC of higher than zero, it’s proof to law enforcement officers that you were drinking when you are not eligible due to being younger than the age of 21.
Arizona also makes it illegal to give alcohol to anyone under the age of 21 alcohol if they are not a member of your immediate family or does not permanently reside in the same household. That means you may not give alcohol to the children of friends or underage buddies even if their parents give their approval. The law also applies to businesses. If you are convicted of serving alcohol to a minor, you face up to six months in jail and a fine of as much as $2,500.
Underage DUI is considered a misdemeanor criminal offense, but more often it’s the signs of underage drinking that result in some form of penalty. The purchase of alcoholic beverages, supplying alcoholic beverages to a person under the age of 21 or the act of driving under the influence are all evidence of underage drinking. Law enforcement officers are more likely to catch persons under the age of 21 doing one of those things than taking a drink from a beer bottle.
If you’re caught with any amount of alcohol in your bloodstream, your driver license will be suspended up to 30 days for a first conviction and up to six months for a second or subsequent conviction. That also applies to drivers who refuse to submit to a breath or blood test and you’re not of legal drinking age.
When Arizona says zero tolerance, it’s not something to be taken lightly. The law says you can’t drink if you’re under the age of 21, yet the legal age for driving a motor vehicle in Arizona is 16 years-old. An arrest on DUI charges can affect your ability to be a licensed driver for a number of years into the future. Other ramifications will include the inability to compete for jobs that require a driver’s license, as well as increased liability insurance requirements and premiums.
It is important that your DUI legal situation should be handled by expert professionals with the experience possessed by the attorneys at the Law Offices of Craig W. Penrod, P.C.
Schedule Your Free Consultation