Reckless Driving Charges
Reckless driving is one of the more serious misdemeanor offenses in the state of Arizona. The offense may be either a Class 1 or Class 2 misdemeanor.
In Tempe, Phoenix or other communities in Maricopa County, it is important that you consult experienced Arizona lawyers like those associated with the Law Offices of Craig W. Penrod, P.C.
As a first time offense reckless driving is considered to be a Class 2 misdemeanor with a maximum penalty of four months in the Maricopa County jail, plus a fine of $750. There are some additional consequences to your driver’s license as reckless driving is considered to be a serious moving violation. Thus, eight points are assessed to your driver’s license by the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division (MVD). As a result, you will be required to complete Traffic Survival School.
In the state of Arizona, points are tracked by MVD on a 12-month rolling basis. This means that the amount of points that you have been assessed during the past 12 months are calculated and if you have accumulated 8-12 points during that 12-month period, you will need to take steps to attend Traffic Survival School as a way to hang onto your Arizona driver’s license. If you accumulate 13 or more points during a 12-month period, your driver’s license will be suspended by MVD.
Under the Arizona Revised Statutes, reckless driving is defined as a person who drives a vehicle in reckless disregard for the safety of persons or property. A person who is convicted of reckless driving is guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor. In addition, the judge may require you to surrender your driver’s license. The conviction shall be reported to MVD and the judge may order the driving privileges of the person to be suspended for a period of not more than 90 days.
A person who is convicted of reckless driving after having been previously convicted of reckless driving within a period of 24 months will be considered to be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. That person will not be eligible for probation, pardon, suspension of sentence or release on any basis until they have served at least 20 days in the Maricopa County jail. The judge may require you to surrender your driver’s license and report the conviction to MVD, which shall revoke your driving privileges. Defendants receiving a sentence in the county jail may be eligible for work release if they are a full-time student or employed full-time.
The crime of reckless driving can carry some very significant consequences including time in jail, monetary fines, attendance at traffic school and a driver’s license suspension. However, unlike a conviction for driving under the influence (DUI), a sentence of jail time is merely discretionary.
It is important that your legal situation should be handled by expert professionals with the experience possessed by the attorneys at the Law Offices of Craig W. Penrod, P.C. Our office offers free consultations for all DUI and criminal matters. Our Arizona attorneys and Arizona criminal lawyers can provide you with the experience and knowledge needed for qualified representation. An experienced Arizona lawyer is vital in criminal cases and our attorneys set that standard. If you’re in need of a criminal defense, our Arizona criminal attorneys are ready to assist you.
Schedule Your Free Consultation